Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award


The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award, ANA’s highest and most prestigious award, recognizes early- to mid-career neurologists and neuroscientists. This award honors those neurologists and neuroscientists in the first 10 years of their career at the assistant/associate faculty (equivalent) level who have made outstanding basic or clinical scientific advances toward the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and cure of neurological diseases. 


Submit a nomination!



This award was originally given to a newly elected member of the Association who had achieved significant stature in neurological research and who planned to continue making major contributions to the field of neurology. In 2011, this award was divided into two parts: basic science and clinical science. In 2014, a task force was established to broaden the criteria for this award to be more inclusive of the association’s growing membership base. Specifically, the award is now designed to recognize significant contributions by ANA members working in neurology and neuroscience in their first 10 years at the assistant/associate faculty (equivalent) level.


The Awards Committee can make up to a total of three (3) awards in the following three areas:

  • Physician-Scientist - Basic
  • Physician-Scientist - Clinical
  • Neuroscientist – relevant to disease

Eligible Candidates

Eligible candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • Current membership in the ANA
  • Faculty in your first 10 years at the assistant/associate faculty (equivalent) level
  • Actively working in the field of academic neurology or neuroscience
  • Can apply more than once
  • Present at the Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium session at the ANA Annual meeting.

Candidates who have submitted unsuccessfully in the past may reapply. Self-nominations are encouraged.

Not eligible

  • Full professor is not eligible
  • Previous Awardees

Each awardee will receive:

  • $1,000 honorarium
  • Gratis Annual Meeting registration
  • A commemorative plaque


Complete nominations must include the following:

  1. Two Letters
    • Primary Nomination letter from a Senior Neuroscience colleague citing the nominee's research portfolio and trajectory for major contributions to the field, including several first and last authored peer-reviewed publications
    • Seconding Letter, preferably from an individual outside of the nominee's institute
  2. Nominee’s CV
  3. NIH Biosketch (Optional but does not substitute for the CV)
  4. Research Description: a summation of the nominee’s research (max 1 page) that includes citing three (3) recent publications and/or abstracts highlighting the nominee's research succes



2021 Recipients: Alexandra Nelson, Anabelle Singer, Timothy Yu

Past Recipients:

2020 Aimee Kao, Sheng-Han Kuo, Joshua Shulman
2019 Cassie Mitchell, Michael Fox, and Brandon Westover
2018 Peter K. Todd, Lauren Sansing, and Alice Chen-Plotkin
2017 Kevin Sheth, Lesli Skolarus, and Conrad Weihl
2016 Robert Baloh, Glen Jickling, and Alex R. Paciorkowski
2015 Annapurna Poduri, Erik Roberson, and Daniel Reich
2014 Alica M. Goldman and Leigh Hochberg
2013 Kevin Kerber and J. Paul Taylor
2012 Dawn Kleindorfer and Brian Traynor
2011 Reisa Sperling and Jay A. Gottfried
2010 Dane Chetkovich
2009 Carsten G. Bonnemann and Ming Guo
2008 Christine Klein
2007 Douglas A. Kerr
2006 Scott Small
2005 Ahmet Hoke
2004 Daniel H. Geschwind
2003 Argye E. Hillis
2002 Jonathan W. Mink and Jonathan K. Fink
2001 Bruce A. Yankner
2000 Stephen C. Cannon
1999 Christopher Walsh
1998 Robert B. Darnell
1997 Louis J. Ptacek
1996 Ted M. Dawson
1995 Donald R. Johns
1994 Huda Zoghbi
1993 Allan Levey
1992 M. Flint Beal
1991 William Mobley
1990 Kenneth Kosik


Back to Awards