The Grass Foundation - ANA Award in Neuroscience


The Grass Foundation - ANA Award in Neuroscience was established in 2007 to honor outstanding young investigators doing research in basic or clinical neuroscience. The Grass Foundation was established in 1955 by Albert and Ellen Grass to advance research and education in neuroscience, with a special focus on investigators early in their careers. 

Recipients of the Grass Foundation award are expected to present at the Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium session at the ANA Annual meeting.

Submit a Nomination


Eligible Candidates

Eligible candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • Current membership in the ANA
  • Physician-scientist neurology faculty members early in their careers (MD or MD, PhD)
  • Faculty who are 5 years or less out of postgraduate or post-fellowship training
  • Actively working in the field of academic neurology or neuroscience

Not Eligible Candidates

  • Full professor is not eligible
  • Previous awardees

Candidates who have submitted unsuccessfully in the past may reapply. Self-nominations are encouraged. 

This award may not be presented in a given year if there is no outstanding candidate.

The awardee will receive:

  • $1,000 honorarium
  • Gratis Annual Meeting registration
  • Up to $1,500 travel reimbursement
  • Commemorative plaque

The submitter must include the following:

  1. Two Letters
    • Nomination letter from Senior Neuroscience colleague detailing the nominee’s early achievements and career trajectory in neuroscience research
    • Seconding Letter, preferably from an individual outside of the nominee's institution
  2. Nominee’s CV
  3. Research Description: a summation of the nominee’s research (max 1 page) that identifies top areas of research and includes no more than links to 3 papers. Abstracts are acceptable
  4. Completed nomination form

Submit a Nomination Today!


2022 Recipient: Derek Narendra, MD, PhD

Past Recipients
  • 2021: Alberto Serrano-Pozo
  • 2020: Eoin Flanagan
  • 2019: Ethan Goldberg
  • 2018: Michael Wilson
  • 2017: Clotilde Lagier-Tourenne
  • 2016: Aasef Shaikh
  • 2015: Dena Dubal
  • 2014: Joshua Shulman
  • 2013: Andrew McKeon
  • 2012: Sydney Cash
  • 2007: Jack Parent

Back to Awards