Annual Meeting Poster Awards

Poster Awards were established in 2016 by the Board of Directors as a way to help recognize exceptional work presented by those in the early stages of their careers - students (graduate and undergraduate), residents, trainees, and postdoc fellows.

Posters are judged by members of the Board of Directors, SPAC, Chairs of the SIG Sessions, and other leaders in various fields of neurology. The top-scoring posters are awarded $250 each.

2022 Poster Award Recipients

Scott Barbuto
Scott Barbuto, MD, PhD

Institution: Columbia University Medical Center
Poster Title: Home Aerobic Versus Balance Training In Cerebellar Ataxias

Gregory Day
Gregory Day, MD, MSc

Institution: Mayo Clinic, Florida
Poster Title: Determining Etiologic Diagnoses in Rapidly Progressive Dementia: A Clinical Study

Lila Faulhaber
Lila Faulhaber, BS

Institution: Seattle Children's Research Institute
Poster Title: Integrin a4b1 Blockade Improves Locomotion in Mice with CD19-CAR T Cell Neurotoxicity

Emily Ferenczi, BM, BCh, PhD

Institution: Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Poster Title: Properties and Function of a Closed Loop Pallidocortical Circuit

Emma Gootee, BS, MS

Institution: Johns Hopkins University
Poster Title: Risk of Recurrent Stroke is Increased When Incident Stroke Etiology is Unknown

Hendrik Greve, PhD

Institution: Indiana University School of Medicine
Poster Title: Ozone Air Pollution and Alzheimer’s Disease: An Emerging Role for HMGB1 in the Lung-Brain Axis

Sasha Gupta, MD

Institution: University of California, San Francisco
Poster Title: CAR-T Cell Mediated B Cell Depletion in Central Nervous System Autoimmunity

Andrea Harriott, MD PhD

Institution: Massachusetts General Hospital
Poster Title: Sex And Hormonal Differences In Optogenetic Cortical Spreading Depression-Induced Trigeminal Pain Behavior

Shunsuke Koga, MD, PhD

Institution: Mayo Clinic, Florida
Poster Title: Multiple Coexisting Pathologies Were Associated with Rapid Cognitive Decline in Dementia with Lewy Bodies: An Autopsy Study of 62 Prospectively Followed Patients

Myoung-Hwa Lee, PhD

Institution: NIH
Poster Title: Neurovascular Injury with Complement Activation and Inflammation in COVID-19

Jay Lusk, BSc

Institution: Duke University
Poster Title: Low Neighborhood Socioeconomic Status is Associated with Increased 30-Day Mortality and Readmission Rates for Patients with Common Neurological Disorders

Abby Olsen, MD, PhD

Institution: University of Pittsburgh
Poster Title: Nicotine-mediated Rescue Of Alpha-synuclein Toxicity Requires Synaptic Vesicle Glycoprotein 2c

ANA Logo
Haydeh Payami, PhD

Institution: University of Alabama at Birmingham
Poster Title: Uncovering Wide-Spread Dysbiosis at Species-Level Resolution Implicates the Gut Microbiome in Multiple Parkinson Disease Pathologies

Davut Pehlivan, MD

Institution: Baylor College of Medicine
Poster Title: Advanced Molecular Studies Resolving The Genomic Structure In Mecp2 Duplication Syndrome Informs The Genotype-phenotype Correlations And Potential Interventions

Srikant Rangaraju, MD, MS

Institution: Emory University 
Poster Title: Integrative Whole Brain and Neuron-Specific Native-State Proteomics Identifies Molecular Vulnerabilities of PV Interneurons

Anupama Rani, PhD

Institution: Barrow Neurological Institute
Poster Title: Multifaceted Outcome Benefit of Glibenclamide After Murine Traumatic Brain Injury Across Sex

Alessandro Salvalaggio, MD

Institution: Padova Neuroscience Center, University of Padova
Poster Title: White Matter Density Predicts Overall Survival in Glioblastoma: A New Connectivity Framework for Brain Tumors

Paul Sampognaro, MD

Institution: University of California, San Francisco
Poster Title: Specificity Of The Lysosomal Proteases In The Degradation Of Α-synuclein, Tau, And Tdp43: Implications For Neurodegenerative Disease

Elizabeth Seng, PhD

Institution: Yeshiva University
Poster Title: Maintenance of Effects of Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Migraine: 6-Month Follow-Up of a Randomized Clinical Trial

Selina Yogeshwar, BSc, MSc

Institution: Stanford University 
Poster Title: Rank Wise Effect of HLA-DQ5 Explains Risk for the Development of Anti-IgLON5 Disease

2021 Poster Tour Award Recipients

Bonnie Breining, PhD
Ryan Coburn, MD
Michael Glendinning, BA
Vivian Ko, BS
Hyunyong Koh, MD, PhD
Naveen Kondru, DVM, PhD
Fatemeh Mohammadpour Touserkani, MD
Suzanne Odom, MD
Kunal Shroff, BS
Melissa Stockbridge, PhD

2020 Poster Award Recipients

Marina Buciuc, MD, MS
Gabriela Gomez, BS
Andrew Kayser, MD, PhD
Jun-ichi Kira, MD, PhD
Chun Chieh Lin, PhD, MBA
Scott Newsome, DO
Eric Schoenfeld, BA
Cecilia Zivelonghi, MD

2019 Poster Award Winners

Sunday Poster Award Winners

Emily Acton, BS
Ravi Chopra, BA
Lubov Ezerskiy, BA
Helen Hwang, MD, PhD
Kayla Nygaard, PhD Student
Tirth Patel, BS
Zachary Rosenthal, BS
Anil Wadhwani, PhD
Zezhong Ye, PhD
Mitsukuni Yoshida, BS

Monday Poster Award Winners

Margaret Blattner, MD, PhD
Omar Butt, MD, PhD
Marc Casale, BS
Umber Dube, BSc
Yuri Pavlov, MSc
Sai Polineni, MPH
Deep Pujara, MBBS, MPH
Ryan Schubert, MD
Stephanie Schultz, BS
Michelle Wegscheid, BS

2018 Poster Award Winners

Sunday Poster Award Winners

Wyatt Bensken, BS
David Coughlin, MD
Angela Deutschlander, MD
Adam Dickey, MD, PhD
Manmeet Kaur, MD
Abby Olsen, MD, PhD
Luis Paixao, MD, MSc
Mikayla Roof
Raquel Valdes Angues, PhD, MScGH
Taiki Yabumoto, MD

Monday Poster Award Winners

Asher Albertson, MD, PhD
Ahmed Bahrani, MS
Jordan Clay, MD
Sophie Duong, MD
Jeffrey Ehmsen, MD, PhD, MPH
Emily Hokett, BA
Carolin Koriath, MD
Payam Mohassel, MD
Wataru Shiraishi, MD
Keenan Walker, PhD

2017 Poster Award Winners

Saud Alhusaini, MD, PhD
Mona Bahouth, MD
Bridgette Billioux, MD
Dongming Cai, MD, PhD
Louis Dang, MD, PhD
Ryan Darby, MD
Leah Dickstein, MD
Stefanie Geisler, MD
Sarosh Irani
Sam Kampondeni, MMED
Alana Kirby, MD, PhD
Eric Landsness, MD, PhD
Miranda Lim, MD, PhD
Brendan Lucey, MD
Erik Musiek, MD, PhD
Kalen Petersen, BS
Samantha Roman, MD
Kyle Rossi, MD
Zachary Wallen

2016 Poster Award Winners

Sunday Poster Award Winners

Mona Bahouth, MD
Ravi Chopra, MD, PhD
Francesca Cignarella, PhD
Aman Deep, MD             
Lauren Heusinkveld       
Atulya Iyengar, PhD
Peter Kosa, PhD
Jennifer Orthmann-Murphy, MD, PhD
Kathleen Poston, MD, MS
Andrea  Schneider, MD, PhD

Monday Poster Award Winners

Christopher Cashman, MD, PhD
Justin Chandler, MD
Jesse Cohen, MD
Sarah Crisp, MB BChir PhD             
Benjamin George           
Michael Levy, MD, PhD
Brendan Lucey, MD
Eugenia Martinez-Hernandez, MD, PhD
Claudia Santos, Bachelor
Nathan Staff, MD, PhD