Soriano Lectureship

The first Soriano lecture was established in 1987, which marked the 40th year of consecutive attendance at ANA meetings by the Soriano family. The Soriano's chose to sponsor a lectureship to be given at the ANA, so that in future years they "will always be linked to all of you, through a brilliant lecture delivered by an outstanding scientist...." 

The Soriano Lectureship is given to a member of the ANA who is a prominent speaker. The Scientific Program Advisory Committee ( SPAC) selects the recipient. There is no call for nomination. The awardee receives a $1,000 honorarium and a commemorative plaque

When asked in 1989 why they chose to sponsor a lectureship, the Soriano's wrote:

"When we first went to the United States in 1945, to stay as a Rockefeller Fellow, first at the Yale University with Professor John F. Fulton and afterward at the Montefiore Hospital, Columbia University with Professor H. Houston Merritt, we enjoyed the most cordial and warm welcome everywhere, establishing lasting bonds of friendship with outstanding promising young doctors, who are now senior members of the American Neurological Association and prestigious professors.

Thus, when I became a member of the American Neurological Association several decades ago, I returned since 1948 every year with the double pleasure to enjoy a very high level of scientific meeting and to see dear old friends. Little by little, we have regarded the ANA as a big family, to which we were united by warm affection. Sponsoring a lectureship to be given at the ANA Annual Meeting, we are very happy to think that in future years the Soriano's will always be linked to all of you, through a brilliant lecture delivered by an outstanding scientist . . . "

2021 Recipient: Avindra Nath, MD

Past Awardees

2020 Sonja Scholz
2019 Louise McCullough
2018 Dimitri Krainc
2017 Gretchen Birbeck
2016 S. Claiborne Johnston
2015 Jeffrey Saver
2014 Stephen G. Waxman
2013 Howard L. Weiner
2012 Alastair Compston
2011 Tallie Z. Baram
2010 Mathias Jucker
2009 John C. Morris
2007 Marc A. Dichter
2006 David M. Holtzman
2005 Roger P. Simon
2004 Robert C. Griggs
2003 Michael A. Moskowitz
2002 Marcus E. Raichle
2001 Gerald Fischbach
2000 Antonio R. Damasio
1999 Anne B. Young
1998 Huda Zoghbi
1997 John W. Griffin
1996 Henry F. McFarland
1995 Jerome B. Posner
1994 Salvatore DiMauro
1993 John M. Newsome-Davis
1992 Martha Denckla
1991 Lewis P. Rowland
1990 Donald Price
1989 Albert Aguayo
1988 Stanley Fahn
1987 Darrell D. Bigner


Back to Awards