Emerging Scholars Award

The Emerging Scholars Session was created in 2020 to showcase the innovative and cutting edge research of junior and early career  neurologists and neuroscientists. Each session features four presentors selected by the chairs of the Scientific Program Advisory Committee (SPAC) and the Emerging Scholars Session.

Student, Resident, Trainee, Postdoc Fellow, Undergrad, Assistant Professor & Instructor


Candidates are selected once all abstracts are reviewed and scored. Abstracts submitted by those in the eligablie career categories are sent to the chairs of SPAC and the Emerging Scholars Session. The chairs select four (4) presenters for each session the ANA chooses to have during the Annual Meeting. If the author of the abstract cannot attend and present at the Annual Meeting, the co-author is permitted to present as long as they are a student, resident, trainee, postdoc fellow, undergrad, assistant professor or instructor.


One presentor from each session is eligible  for a prize of $250. The recipient is determined by the SPAC committee after the session and based on the scores of each presentation. The presentor with the highest score in each sesion recieves the $250.

ANA2020 Virtual Annual Meeting

Sixteen presenters showcased their research during one of four ANA2020 Emerging Scholar Lecture Series sessions. All presentations were judged by ANA Fellows based on a set of criteria established by the Scientific Program Advisory Committee. The Emerging Scholar Award Winners achieved the highest-scoring presentation in their respective Emerging Scholar Lecture Series session.



Albert Davis, MD, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine
APOE Genotype Regulates Pathology and Disease Progression in Synucleinopathy

Juliane Gust, MD, PhD
Seattle Children's Research Institute,Center for Integrative Brain Research
In-vivo Two-photon Imaging Reveals Brain Capillary Plugging During Neurotoxicity in a Mouse Model of Chimeric Antigen Receptor (CAR) T Therapy


Jennifer Orthmann-Murphy, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
An Undiagnosed White Matter Disorders Neurogenetics Clinic

Xilma Ortiz-Gonzalez, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine
FTH1 De Novo Dominant Variants Alter Iron Metabolism and Cause a Pediatric Onset Neuroferritinopathy



Back to Awards