Wolfe Research Prize for Identifying New Causes or Novel Treatment of Neuropathy

The ANA is offering the Wolfe Research Prize to honor an outstanding investigator who identifies a new cause or novel treatment of neuropathy. Candidates may include faculty members in the first ten (10) years at the assistant/associate faculty equivalent or level, who identify either a new cause or treatment of neuropathy. The recipient is selected by the ANA Awards Committee. 
The same researcher can qualify for this award annually if he/she can demonstrate evidence of repeated success in identifying new causes or treatments for peripheral neuropathy.

The awardee will be required to submit an abstract for inclusion in the Annual Meeting program deliver an oral presentation during the Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium at the ANA Annual Meeting. 

Eligible Candidates:

  • Current ANA member in good standing 
  • Actively working in the field of academic neurology or neuroscience
  • Faculty members in the first ten (10) years at the assistant/associate professor level or equivalent 
  • Candidates who have submitted unsuccessfully in the past may reapply. Self-nominations are encouraged.


  • $2,000 Award Honorarium
  • Up to $2,000 in Travel Reimbursement for the Annual Meeting
  • A Commemorative Plaque

Application Requirements:

  1. Nominee Statement
  2. Nominee CV
  3. Two (2) Letters of Nomination:
    • Nomination letter detailing the nominee’s achievements in identifying new causes or treatments
    • Seconding ​Letter, preferably from an individual outside the nominee's institution

The awardee is required to:  

  • Submit an abstract for publication in the ANA Annual Meeting Final Program
  • Present their research during the Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium at the ANA Annual Meeting

2022 Recipient: Stephanie Eid, PhD

Past Recipients 

  • 2021: Brett McCray
  • 2020: Brian C. Callaghan
  • 2019: Daniela Menichella
  • 2018: Ahmet Hoke
  • 2017: Stefanie Geisler
  • 2016: Michael J. Polydefkis
  • 2015: Lucy Hinder 
  • 2014: Jun Li
  • 2013: Christopher Klein
  • 2012: Thomas Lloyd
  • 2011: Douglas W. Zochodne
  • 2010: Hsinlin Cheng
  • 2009: Florian Eichler