Derek Denny-Brown Neurological Scholar Award

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award, ANA’s highest and most prestigious award, recognizes early- to mid-career neurologists and neuroscientists. This award honors those neurologists and neuroscientists in the first 10 years of their career at the assistant/associate faculty (equivalent) level who have made outstanding basic and clinical scientific advances toward the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure of neurological diseases. Learn more here!


Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award

In 1996, the ANA established a teaching award for outstanding accomplishments in teaching neurology to residents and medical students. The purpose of this award is to recognize and reward contributions by gifted and talented teachers of neurology. Nominees may come from the entire field of clinical neurology or neuroscience. Learn more here!


The Grass Foundation - ANA Award in Neuroscience

The Grass Foundation - ANA Award in Neuroscience was established in 2007 to honor outstanding young investigators doing research in basic or clinical neuroscience. The Grass Foundation was established in 1955 by Albert and Ellen Grass to advance research and education in neuroscience, with a special focus on investigators early in their careers. Learn more here!


Annals of Neurology Prize

This award is selected and presented by the Editor-in-Chief of Annals of Neurology. Learn more here!

F.E. Bennett Memorial Lectureship

Foster Elting Bennett, MD, established a lectureship in 1979 in the memory of his son. This award, which has been given to outstanding researchers and educators in neurology, is not limited to members of the American Neurological Association. Learn more here!

George W. Jacoby Award

The Jacoby Award is given triennially to a member of the ANA who has done some especially meritorious experimental work upon any neurologic or psychiatric subject. Learn more here!

Raymond D. Adams Lectureship

This lectureship was established in 2000 to honor Dr. Raymond D. Adams, emeritus Bullard Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and emeritus Chief of the Neurology Service at the Massachusetts General Hospital. An ANA member at the Annual Meeting presents the lectureship. Learn more here!

Soriano Lectureship

The first Soriano lecture was given in 1987 which marked the 40th year of consecutive attendance at ANA meetings by Victor Soriano and his wife. The couple chose to sponsor a lectureship to be given at the ANA, so that in future years the Sorianos "would always be linked to all of you, through a brilliant lecture delivered by an outstanding scientist…” The lecture must be given by a member of the ANA. Learn more here!

Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize

The Wolfe Neuropathy Research prize was established in 2009 by Winston Wolfe and the ANA.  The award was designed to honor an outstanding investigator who has identified a new cause or treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy. Learn more here!

Annual Meeting Travel Awards

Each year the ANA selects the top ranked abstracts submitted by fellows, residents, and early-career faculty to receive a travel award to attend the Annual Meeting and present their work. In 2018, the ANA distributed more than $60,000 in travel awards. To see a complete list of 2018 awardees, click here!

Annual Meeting Poster Awards

Congratulations to our Annual Meeting Poster Winners who were selected from Sunday and Monday poster sessions. There were 249 posters and these winners represent the top 20! To see a complete list of winners, click here!

International Outreach Travel Scholarship

The ANA established this scholarship program in recognition of the shared goal among neurologists worldwide to reduce the burden of neurological disease through research, education, clinical care, and advocacy. The scholarship enables two recipients, residents, fellows, or junior faculty, who are members of the ANA and are training in neurology, the opportunity to work in low to lower-middle income countries for a minimum of six weeks in the upcoming academic year.  Candidates must apply and meet specific criteria to be considered. Learn more here!