144[™] ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN NEUROLOGICAL ASSOCIATION



OCTOBER 13-15, 2019 • PRE-MEETING SYMPOSIUM: OCTOBER 12, 2019
MARRIOTT ST. LOUIS GRAND • ST. LOUIS, MO • 2019.MYANA.ORG

For Immediate Release

Contact: Denise Portner

dportner@steegethomson.com | 267.670.7010

American Neurological Association Announces Recipients of 2019 Awards for Outstanding Accomplishment in Academic Neurology

Awards recognize work in the genetics of Alzheimer's disease, the microbiome and stroke, clinical trial design, and more

(MOUNT LAUREL, NJ, August 21, 2019) — The American Neurological Association (ANA), the professional organization representing the nation's top academic neurologists and neuroscientists, has announced the winners of its 2019 scientific awards, to be presented at the 144th ANA Annual Meeting, to be held at the Marriott St. Louis Grand, October 13-15, 2019. The awards recognize leaders in academic neurology and neuroscience who have exemplified excellence in research, teaching, and clinical practice across the gamut of clinical neurology and neuroscience disciplines.

"This year's awardees reflect the cutting—edge research being done at every career stage across neurology and neuroscience," said David M. Holtzman, MD, president of the ANA and Andrew B. and Gretchen P. Jones Professor and Chairman, Dept. of Neurology at the Washington University School of Medicine. "The pace of advances we're seeing in translational neuroscience and the neurobiology of disease are extraordinary. We hope the gains will inspire the new generation of physician scientists to pursue careers that combine research and teaching with clinical practice. There has never been a more exciting time to work in academic neurology."

Each year, the ANA Annual Meeting convenes more than 900 of the nation's top academic neurologists and neuroscientists to share updates and late-breaking research on the diseases that affect more than 100 million Americans each year including stroke, Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, neuromuscular disorders, headache, traumatic brain and spinal cord injuries, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis and more. Out of this distinguished group, the following will receive a 2018 ANA Award:

Lectureships

The Raymond D. Adams Lectureship honors Dr. Raymond D. Adams, emeritus Bullard Professor of Neuropathy at Harvard Medical School and emeritus Chief of Neurology Service at the Massachusetts General Hospital.

• Awarded to: Merit Cudkowicz, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital

144™ ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN NEUROLOGICAL ASSOCIATION



OCTOBER 13-15, 2019 • PRE-MEETING SYMPOSIUM: OCTOBER 12, 2019 MARRIOTT ST. LOUIS GRAND • ST. LOUIS, MO • 2019.MYANA.ORG

Presentation title: Accelerating ALS Therapeutics: Master Platform Trials and Other Approaches

The F.E. Bennett Memorial Lectureship began in 1979 to recognize outstanding neuroscientists.

Awarded to: Alison Goate, DPhil, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
 Presentation title: Genetics of Alzheimer's Disease: Similarities and Differences Between

 Dominantly Inherited and Late Onset Alzheimer's Disease

The Soriano Lectureship was established in 1987 by ANA member Dr. Victor Soriano and his wife to provide a "brilliant lecture delivered by an outstanding scientist" who is a member of the Association.

 Awarded to: Louise McCullough, MD, PhD, University of Texas Health Presentation title: Microbiome and the Stroke: The Hidden Factor

Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholars

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Awards are clinical awards given each year during the Annual Meeting to new members of the association who have achieved significant stature in neurological research, and who show promise and will continue making major contributions to the field of neurology.

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Basic Science

Awarded to: Michael Fox, MD, PhD, Harvard Medical School
 Presentation title: Mapping and treating neuropsychiatric symptoms using the human brain connectome.

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Clinical Science

 Awarded to: M. Brandon Westover, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital & Harvard Medical School

Presentation title: Enabling Computers to Detect Epileptiform Discharges As Well as Clinical Neurophysiologists

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Neuroscience

Awarded to: Cassie S. Mitchell, PhD, Georgia Institute of Technology
 Presentation title: Literature-based discovery facilitates predictive medicine for neurological disease

Research & Teaching Awards

144™ ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN NEUROLOGICAL ASSOCIATION



OCTOBER 13-15, 2019 • PRE-MEETING SYMPOSIUM: OCTOBER 12, 2019 MARRIOTT ST. LOUIS GRAND • ST. LOUIS, MO • 2019.MYANA.ORG

The Grass Foundation-ANA Award in Neuroscience established in 2007, honors outstanding young investigators conducting research in basic or clinical neuroscience.

Awarded to: Ethan Goldberg, MD, PhD, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
 Presentation title: "SCN3A-related neurodevelopmental disorder: A disease spectrum including epilepsy with or without brain malformation"

The Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize was established in 2009 by Mr. Winston Wolfe and the ANA to honor outstanding investigators who identify a new cause or novel treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy.

Awarded to: Daniela Menichella, MD, PhD, Northwestern University

Poster number: S283

Category: Pain Mechanisms & Treatment

Abstract title: Nociceptor Excitability Underlies Axon Loss in Diabetic Neuropathy: A

New Disease Modifying Target

The Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award recognizes and rewards contributions by gifted and talented teachers of neurology. Nominees come from the entire field of clinical neurology or neuroscience.

Awarded to: John C Kincaid, MD, Indiana University

This year's annual meeting features a Presidential Symposium on Alzheimer's disease and plenary sessions highlighting the microbiome, language disorders, optimizing clinical trial design, and regenerative medicine. A detailed <u>Advance Program</u> is online.

About ANA2019

The <u>144th Annual Meeting</u> of the American Neurological Association (ANA) will be held October 13–15, 2019 at the Marriott St. Louis Grand, with the "Brain-Computer Interfaces in Neurological Disease" Pre-Meeting Symposium on October 12 on. More than 900 of the nation's top academic neurologists and neuroscientists, as well as students, trainees, and international professionals, will convene to share three days of research at the forefront of neurology and neuroscience. Follow the meeting live using **#ANA2019** on Twitter @TheNewANA1, on Facebook @AmericanNeurologicalAssociation, or on Instagram @ananeurology.

About the American Neurological Association (ANA)

From advances in stroke and dementia to movement disorders and epilepsy, the American Neurological Association has been at the vanguard of research since 1875 as the premier professional society of academic neurologists and neuroscientists devoted to understanding and

144TH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN NEUROLOGICAL ASSOCIATION



OCTOBER 13-15, 2019 • PRE-MEETING SYMPOSIUM: OCTOBER 12, 2019 MARRIOTT ST. LOUIS GRAND • ST. LOUIS, MO • 2019.MYANA.ORG

treating diseases of the nervous system. Its monthly *Annals of Neurology* is among the world's most prestigious medical journals, and the ANA's *Annals of Clinical and Translational Neurology* is an online-only, open access journal providing rapid dissemination of high-quality, peerreviewed research related to all areas of neurology. The acclaimed ANA Annual Meeting draws faculty and trainees from the top academic departments across the U.S. and abroad for groundbreaking research, networking, and career development. For more information, visit www.myana.org or follow @TheNewANA1 on Twitter, @AmericanNeurologicalAssociation on Facebook, or @ananeurology on Instagram.